We all experience moments when we seem to take our loved ones for granted.  However, in the midst of disaster, we seem to do almost anything to make sure they're safe and sound.

My roommate woke me Wednesday morning around 2 a.m. telling me to call my family immediately because a tornado had blown through a nearby city--Branson, Missouri.  After making sure my parents were safe, I immediately felt an urgency to find out what had happened and survey the destruction that had been done.  Not only because the storm hit so close to home, but because of that inner curiosity all passionate reporters feel.  I was eager to leave when my news director texted me around 7:30 a.m. that morning.

Even though I expected it, the destruction was worse than I had pictured.  The once vibrant tourist strip seemed deserted when blocked from traffic.  We were able to park near other media trucks and got to work right away.  Locals and property owners were surveying the damage by foot.  One local said he wanted to show his six children the damage to teach them they can "never underestimate God's power."  He said most residential areas were unharmed, but a fellow reporter who had traveled with me also found a family whose home had been ripped apart by the treacherous winds. 

Another hotel owner said they had lost an entire building, and the other was destroyed.  They had lost their daughter to cancer just months before in one of those very rooms.  "It just sucks," she told me with tears in her eyes.  It's hard as a reporter to not feel emotional toward those you're speaking to, but focusing on telling his or her story is what keeps me calm.

I had the LiveU Backpack with me, and since the strip had no power, I had to drive to a nearby outlet mall.  It was eerily deserted, but I was able to find some power to feed video back and put myself together before going on-air.  It was an exciting experience, to say the least. 

As it got dark, the town looked like a scene straight form a horror film.  However, locals said the fact that there was no loss of life was something to be thankful for.  Each of them told me they were going to rebuild bigger and better than before.  What a strong community, I thought.  Everyone was so helpful and welcoming--which isn't always an easy task when the media swarms your home trying to get the scoop.  I was so thankful I got to meet a few of them, and thankful everyone was safe. 

You can find the live report and web story here.



Leave a Reply.